Anniversary Post

We celebrated our first year anniversary about a month ago, and two countries later, I’m  getting around to posting! We marked the milestone with a 40 mile bike-ride  to the Pink House B&B in Waterford, VA. Lewis has done 60 mile rides in the past, but I don’t think he’s ever done one carrying overnight gear.  So this ride marked our first anniversary, was our first long ride together, and it was our first time “touring.” The planning and execution was a peek into our relationship because it was me who inspired the idea, but Lewis who put the leg-work into investigating B&Bs on the bike path, checking the weather radar every hour the day before our ride, and making sure our bikes were in working order.

The ride out to the Pink House was great with clear and comfortable weather. Though once we arrived, Lewis admitted that he was glad I managed the ride thinking that I would get grumpy and angry during the 4+ hours of riding. The ride back was another story. It was cold and rainy. So when we stopped for lunch at a coffee shop, I sneaked into the bathroom, took off my two layers of socks and ran my frozen feet under hot water. After lunch we rode a couple of miles and hopped on the metro- too tired and cold to make the last 7 miles home. I know Lewis really wanted to get those last 7 miles in because they would mean that over the weekend we rode 100 miles, but I think he felt sorry for his poor frozen wife.

Anyway, the Pink House is a really neat 200 year old home in the country-side that has been renovated by two former DC restaurateurs.

In addition to taking the ride, Lewis brought me a beautiful strand of pearls from Thailand. I gave him bike gear (not the most romantic, but it worked well for the ride).

In honor of our first anniversary, here are some pictures of our wedding and anniversary celebrations.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Anniversary Post

  1. Jen

    Congrats again! You guys are inspiring in so many ways. 🙂

  2. JP

    I can’t believe it’s been a year and over a year since I met you. I’m glad I had the opportunity to meet you. Congratz on your anniversary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

