Being Spoiled

For my birthday this year my husband decided to spoil me. First, he got me a Kindle Touch and Kindle case. I’ve been wanting a Kindle for years to take with me on long airplane rides and long nights in the field (with nothing to do). The first thing I did was sign up for a 90-day free trial of the New Yorker. Next, I’ll get myself some books…probably the Hunger Games to start.

In addition, he took me out on the town. First we went to Founding Farmers for an early dinner. The evening started with cocktails. Founding Farmers has an impressive array of house-made cocktails. They make their own syrups (and ginger beer) and ingredients like mint or cucumber are freshly muddled.

I’m drinking “The Constitution,” which is a Plymouth Gin infused with chamomile tea, ginger, and blueberries, lemon juice, and a splash of seltzer. The drink was cool and refreshing without being overly alcoholic or sweet. Lewis had a “Clementine,” which is clementine and chili-infused Reposado Organic Tequila, Benedictine, lime and pineapple juices, and agave nectar. This was also a very fresh tasting cocktail. Later, I had a Dark N Stormy (Gosling dark rum, house-made ginger beer, lime), which is one of my favorite drinks, and Lewis had a Southside (Muddled lemons, mint, CapRock Organic Gin, and sugar).

Dinner was also amazing. Founding Farmers is simple fare that is locally sourced and organic. I had salmon, cooked on a cedar plank and glazed with apricot and maple syrup. As a side I had roasted beets, carrots, and turnip. Lewis had a filet mignon with green beans and sweet potato.


Oh I almost forgot to talk about dessert. You know it’s a special night when you order dessert. I had a piece of carrot cake that was so amazing my husband (who hates the stuff) said, “Maybe I like carrot cake.” The cake was served with a scoop of house made vanilla ice cream. I’m not a big fan of ice cream but this stuff was light and fluffy. He had a bananas foster shake, which was also amazing. It was light for a shake and not overly sweet.

After dinner we headed over to the Kennedy Center for a show of La Cage Aux Folles. The movie Bird Cage with Robbin Williams and Nathan Lane is one of my all time favorites so it was fun to see this on-stage version staring George Hamilton with full on drag-queens, great songs with great singing, corsets, feather boas, stilettos, and anything sparkling. Our seats orchestra level seats were wonderful.

What an awesome way to celebrate my birthday!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Being Spoiled

  1. Carol

    Wow, you were inspired! Love hte pics, especially the one of Lewis in Liberian gear!

    • developmentgypsy

      haha Yes. Well I’ve been meaning to blog. I actually have one more that I wrote and saved (which sometimes I do). Also, WordPress has improved alot in terms of the time it takes to upload pics, so I can do that more easily.

  2. Jen

    I loved the pics. I haven’t been to a play at the Kennedy Center in ages. Thanks for sharing your night! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

